The Broken Road

Book 3: The Broken Road (Tentative Title)

Blake

Blake Vitalli (youngest of the Vitalli Siblings). He is a College Professor.

Lindsay

Lindsay Ellis. She is the head of the Crime Lab for the FBI.

Okay — this needs some major editing and will probably change dramatically, but there’s a rival in this book.  This is Charlie and in the snippet we see Blake and Lindsay fighting about Charlie.

Charlie

Charlie Tennison

By the time they pulled into Lindsay’s driveway, Blake was done.  Blake shook his head.  “Maybe we are just better off as friends.  Everything we do seems to be leading us back to friendship.”

Lindsay’s heart dropped when he said it, but something out of the corner of her eye caught her attention.  There was a car in her driveway.  “I’m not sure what we should do,” she said.

“Looks like you have company,” Blake said with a sigh.  He scowled when the man got out of the car and he recognized Charlie Tennison.  Lindsay had been infatuated with Charlie since before Blake had met her.  She had always said she was going to marry Charlie someday.  Blake felt his chances of having his relationship with Lindsay go anywhere dimish more and more as he looked at Charlie.

“It’s Charlie,” Lindsay said with a smile.  “I wonder what he wants?”

“Probably to get back together,” Blake stated. “That’s what he always wants.”

“You really think so?” Lindsay asked and although he read the excitement in her eyes he could also see the confusion.

Blake sighed and shook his head.  “Why do you always go back to him?  He’s a jerk and treats you like crap.”

“But he’s the guy I’ve always thought I’d marry,” she contested.  “I’ve always seen myself ending up as Mrs. Charlie Tennison.”

“So it’s just because he’s safe and you’re scared of what we might have?” he countered.  “Shit, I think you were right earlier, evidently this morning meant nothing to you.”

“It didn’t mean nothing, Blake,” Lindsay told him. “It meant a lot, but how many ways can I say I don’t want to lose my best friend.”

“And how many times do I have to say you won’t?” he asked.  “Shit, Lindsay, if things don’t work out between us we’ll go back to being friends.  I just want to give it a chance.  There’s obvious chemistry there otherwise last night wouldn’t have happened.”

Lindsay rested her head in her hands and a tear fell from her eyes.  “I can’t, Blake.  I just can’t.  I’m too afraid of losing.”

Blake raked his hand through his hair and shook his head.  “Fine,” he said.  “Go be with Charlie.  I have every intention of staying your friend, but give me a couple days before you call me, will you?” he asked as he turned the key in the truck.

“Blake, I . . .” she began, but he shook his head.

“No, go on, I know where heart lies and it’s obviously not with me,” he said with a sad smile.  “Like I said, give me a couple days before you call.”

Lindsay nodded as she climbed down from the truck.  She wiped the tears from her eyes and was about to say something, but he leaned over to pull the truck door closed before putting the truck in reverse and backing out of the driveway.

Leave a Reply

